Johor joins Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya, Selangor, Melaka, Perlis, Terengganu, and Sarawak in Phase Three of the National Recovery Plan (NRP); while Pahang is only one of three states in Phase Four. 

Effective 8 October (Friday), Johor is progressing to Phase Three of Malaysia's National Recovery Plan (NRP), while Pahang is moving to Phase Four, Senior Minister for Defence, Hishammuddin Hussein, has shared. This decision was approved by the Special Committee on Pandemic Management, which is chaired by Prime Minister Ismail Sabri.

"The transition of this phase was made according to guidelines set by the National Recovery Plan (NRP), and after taking into account the current risk assessment by the Ministry of Health (MOH) and the National Security Council (MKN, or Majlis Keselamatan Negara)," the Minister explained.

With that, the two states are the latest to make headway in the NRP this month, while Terengganu, for instance, is aiming to reach Phase Four by the end of October, according to Chief Minister of Terengganu, Dr Ahmad Samsuri Mokhtar.

Overall, here's which phase each state stands in, per the latest updates:

  • Phase Two: Kedah, Penang, Perak, Kelantan, and Sabah.
  • Phase Three: Johor, Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya, Selangor, Melaka, Perlis, Terengganu, and Sarawak.
  • Phase Four: Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, and Labuan.

In their respective phases, locals in Johor and Pahang will be allowed to organise official government and private functions (i.e including inaugurations and workshops); operate skills training sector, industrial training centres, and vocational colleges; institutes of higher learning (institut pengajian tinggi, or IPT), and attend sports and recreational events. This is, however, only open to fully-vaccinated individuals.

Find the full SOPs here for Phase Three and Phase Four.

Image / Minister Hishammuddin's Facebook

Follow us on Telegram and on Instagram @humanresourcesonline for all the latest HR and manpower news from around the region!