The CMCO in Melaka, Pahang, Putrajaya, Labuan and Terengganu will also be changed to an RMCO in the same period; the ban on inter-state travel remains.

Effective 5 March 2021 (Friday), Malaysia will lift its Movement Control Order (MCO, or PKP) in Kuala Lumpur, Selangor, Penang and Johor. These areas will come under the Conditional MCO (CMCO, or PKPB), up till 18 March (Thursday), Senior Minister (Security Cluster) Ismail Sabri Yaakob has announced.

Speaking at a virtual press conference on Tuesday (2 March), he said this move to lift the MCO comes following advice and a risk assessment by the Ministry of Health.

Additionally, he also announced the following updates:

  • Negeri Sembilan, Kedah, Perak and Kelantan will remain under the CMCO from 5 to 18 March.
  • Sarawak, on the other hand, will undergo the CMCO from 2 to 12 March.
  • Sabah remains under the Recovery MCO (RMCO, or PKPP) from 5 to 18 March.
  • At the same time, Melaka, Pahang, Terengganu, Putrajaya, and Labuan will no longer be under the CMCO form 5 March, and will instead undergo the RMCO up till 18 March

During this period, inter-state travel remains prohibited; while inter-district travel will be allowed from 5 March except in Sabah, Bernama reported.

Cited in the report, Senior Minister Ismail Sabri said the inter-district travel ban in Sabah will be as such based on a request by the Sabah State Government. "We understand Sabah is very big, one district in the state is larger than most states in the Peninsula. As such, the Sabah Government asked (for) the matter to be postponed in the state."

 Photo / Senior Minister (Security Cluster) Ismail Sabri Yaakob's Facebook page

Human Resources Online is on Telegram! Follow us @humanresourcesonline or click here for all the latest weekly HR and manpower news from around the region.