Singapore's Ministry of Manpower (MOM) has just unveiled its list of 11 gazetted public holiday for 2017, giving seven reasons for employers and their teams to rejoice - long weekends.

The following is the full list of holidays: [* marks the seven long weekends]

  1. 1 Jan 2017 - New Year's Day - Sunday*
  2. 28-29 Jan 2017 - Chinese New Year - Saturday and Sunday*
  3. 14 Apr 2017 - Good Friday - Friday*
  4. 1 May 2017 - Labour Day  - Monday*
  5. 10 May 2017 - Vesak Day - Wednesday
  6. 25 Jun 2017 - Hari Raya Puasa - Sunday*
  7. 9 Aug 2017 - National Day - Wednesday
  8. 1 Sep 2017 - Hari Raya Haji - Friday*
  9. 18 Oct 2017 - Deepavali - Wednesday
  10. 25 Dec 2017 - Christmas - Monday*

With New Year's Day, Lunar New Year, and Hari Raya Puasa landing on a Sunday, employees can expect three bonus Monday holidays in lieu. [the * marks the seven long weekends]

ALSO READ: What happens to your staff when they go abroad for holidays?

MOM has reminded employers that employee required to work on a public holiday are entitled to an extra day’s salary at the basic rate of pay, mandated by the Employment Act.

Alternatively, the employer and employee may mutually agree to substitute a public holiday for another working day.

Employer also have the option of granting managers or executives, earning up to a basic monthly salary of $4,500, time-off-in-lieu for working on a public holiday - in the form of mutually agreed number of hours.

Further, if a public holiday falls on a Saturday, an employee not required to work on a Saturday is entitled to another day off or an extra day’s salary in lieu of that public holiday.

Image: Shutterstock