Malaysia to resume Visa on Arrival


Separately, the Transit without Visa (TWOV) facility has been suspended till further notice, for Bangladeshi, Indian, Pakistani, and Sri Lankan travellers transiting through KLIA/KLIA2.

Malaysia's Immigration Department (Jabatan Imigresen Malaysia, or JIM) has announced that Visa on Arrival facilities will resume on 1 June 2022 (Wednesday).

Recap: Visa on Arrival eligibility & criteria

According to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs Malaysia (Kementerian Luar Negeri, or KLN)'s website, the Visa on Arrival (VOA) applies to citizens of China and India who are visiting Malaysia.

To apply, travellers would need to meet the following criteria:

  • Travel from a third country namely, Singapore, Indonesia, Thailand, and Brunei with a valid visa from those countries.
  • Priority will be given to groups or family tourists, businessmen, or investors.
  • The VOA fee is RM200 per person.
  • Duration of stay is 15 days for each entry, with no extension.
  • Have a confirmed return ticket.
  • Proof of financial ability to stay in Malaysia (US$500 cash or equivalent in Ringgit Malaysia and proof in cash, traveller cheque, credit card, debit card, or electronic money recognised by Bank Negara Malaysia).

Travellers can only apply for VOA at the following entry/exit points:

By air

  • Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA/KLIA2)
  • Penang International Airport
  • Senai International Airport, Johor Bahru
  • Kota Kinabalu International Airport, Sabah
  • Kuching International Airport, Sarawak
  • Langkawi International Airport, Kedah
  • Miri Airport, Sarawak
  • Sultan Abdul Aziz Shah Airport, Selangor

By land

  • Kompleks Sultan Abu Bakar, Tanjung Kupang, Johor
  • Pos Kawalan Imigresen Sungai Tujoh, Sarawak
  • Kompleks Kastam, Kuarantin dan Keselamatan Bukit Kayu Hitam, Kedah

By sea

  • Pos Kawalan Imigresen, Terminal Feri Antarabangsa, Labuan

As of 2 June 2022, the KLIA Malaysian Immigration Department Official Facebook page has provided an infographic summarising the VOA facilities as seen below. 

283842677 401775825323418 6112681969391215872 n 

Separately, JIM also announced on the same day that the 120 hours, or five days of Transit without Visa (TWOV) has been suspended till further notice, for travellers of four nationalities transiting through KLIA/KLIA2. 

These are Bangladeshi, Indian, Pakistani, and Sri Lankan travellers.


As shared by the department, and on the High Commission of Malaysia, New Delhi's website, the suspension will be in place until further notice.

Image / 123RF

Follow us on Telegram and on Instagram @humanresourcesonline for all the latest HR and manpower news from around the region!