Previously, incoming travellers from the Australian state only had to undergo a COVID-19 Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR) test, without a need to serve a Stay-Home-Notice (SHN).

The Ministry of Health (MOH), on 27 May, has updated Singapore’s border measures for Singapore citizens (SCs), permanent residents (PRs) and long-term pass holders entering Singapore with travel history (within the last 21 days) to Victoria State, Australia.

Effective 29 May 2021, 2359 hours, the following measures will be in place:

  • An on-arrival COVID-19 PCR test
  • A seven-day SHN at their place of residence
  • A COVID-19 PCR test before the end of the Stay-Home-Notice (SHN) period.

This is in light of the recent increase in the number of COVID-19 cases there in Victoria. As of today, the state stands at 20,575 active cases, and 820 casualties.

Short-term travellers holding an Air Travel Pass (ATP) with travel history to Victoria State, Australia within the last 21 days before departure will, however, not be allowed to enter Singapore.

“All other travellers departing from Australia who have been in Australia (excluding Victoria State) in the last 21 days prior to travel will continue to be subject to a COVID-19 test upon arrival at the airport, in lieu of their SHN,” MOH said in its press release.

Prior to this announcement, travellers from Australia only had to undergo a COVID-19 Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR) test upon arrival, and if the PCR test result was negative, they were be allowed to go about their activities in Singapore, without a need to serve a SHN.

The ministry likewise advised that travellers visit SafeTravel to check for the most updated border measures before entering the country.


Human Resources Online is on Telegram! Follow us @humanresourcesonline or click here for all the latest weekly HR and manpower news from around the region.