Singapore, Cambodia, Fiji, Maldives, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Turkey, Travel, Vaccinated, VTL, border measures

The VTLs with Thailand will begin on 14 December 2021, while the VTLs with the rest will begin on 16 December. 

On 26 November 2021 (Friday), Singapore's Multi-Ministry Taskforce announced that Singapore will be launching Vaccinated Travel Lanes (VTLs) with six more countries/regions —  Cambodia, Fiji, Maldives, Sri Lanka, Thailand, and Turkey.

The VTL with Thailand will begin on 14 December, and Vaccinated Travel Pass (VTP) applications for Short-Term Visitors and Long-Term Pass Holders will commence on 7 December.

At the same time, the VTLs with Cambodia, Fiji, Maldives, Sri Lanka, and Turkey will begin on 16 December, with applications for VTPs opening on 9 December.

Returning Singapore Citizens and Permanent Residents who are fully vaccinated will not need to apply for a VTP in order to make use of the VTLs for travel. Travellers intending to travel from Singapore to these VTL countries/regions are advised to check the prevailing entry requirements of the destination.

The Taskforce also shared that travellers under the VTLs are not required to serve Stay-Home Notice (SHN) on arrival in Singapore. Instead, they will have to produce a negative pre-departure test taken within two days prior to departure, and undergo a Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR) test upon arrival.

Singapore currently has existing VTLs with the following countries/regions:

  1. Australia
  2. Brunei
  3. Canada
  4. Denmark
  5. France
  6. Germany
  7. Italy
  8. The Netherlands
  9. Republic of Korea
  10. Spain
  11. Switzerland
  12. The United Kingdom
  13. The United States.

Meanwhile, Singapore will also be launching VTLs with India, Indonesia, Malaysia (both Land and Air), Finland, and Sweden from 29 November 2021, and VTLs with Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates, which were scheduled to start on 6 December 2021, but have since been deferred

In further border updates, having reviewed the COVID-19 situation in Argentina, Kuwait, Mexico, Mongolia, Morocco, Nepal, Oman, Pakistan, Romania, and Thailand, these countries will be placed in Category II of Singapore's travel risk list from 1 December 2021, 2359 hours.

On the other hand, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Liechtenstein, and Slovakia, will be placed in Category III from 1 December 2021, 2359 hours due to the "worsening situation" in these areas. Belize, Costa Rica, Kazakhstan, Mauritius, Panama, Peru, and Uruguay, will also be placed in Category III from 1 December 2021, 2359 hours.

The full list of Safe Travel Lanes for travel to Singapore and prevailing border measures under each lane for different categories and changes to border measures will be updated on the SafeTravel website.

Image / 123RF

Follow us on Telegram and on Instagram @humanresourcesonline for all the latest HR and manpower news from around the region!